hodgson.diaryland.com

Love Songs

One thing that always annoyed me about R&B love songs is that the people singing them seem to be sad, but not totally in despair. The songs seem to usually go something like this:

Oh baby baby
you were my girl
but now you are gone
I'm thinking about you
Ooh

I've noticed that the times that I have felt most like writing or listening to a love song, it's been because I told someone that I really liked that I really liked them, and they didn't like me back. On the radio though, people seem to typically get someone and then lose them. I'm sure they are broken hearted and all that, but at least they had a swing at it.

I'm not the only person in the world who has experienced unrequited love here, folks. Let's write a real love song about the sort of shit that really happens.

I've liked you for a long time
you're special to me in many ways
I shotgunned a lot of beers last night
which gave me the courage to say

(CHORUS)
Hey, I like you a lot
Like Romeo liked Juli-ot
But you don't feel the same way, and you started crying and asked me to leave
So I did
This sucks
Hot Lemurs fucking in a bowl!
Snake piss!
Of course I still want to be friends because a moment spent in your presence is like a moment in the sun but its extremely disheartening that I can only maintain a relationship with people who aren't right for meEEEEEEEEE!
*Accordion solo*

Ok, the chorus got a bit wierd there, I admit, but you know what I mean. The opposite of love is not hate, it's indifference. The worst thing, this would indicate, would not be to be hated, but to have no effect.

Get it together, songwriters!

<-- | Comments(4) | -->