hodgson.diaryland.com

The flood

The alarms broke in over my cartoons and screamed that there was a flash flood warning. I thought "Hm, flood", but I was almost totally asleep so I didn't move.

Then the lights went out, came back on with a buzzing sound and promptly went out again, this time with an air of resolution. There was a very loud boom in the distance, and the apartment was silent.

I was so almost asleep that I almost stayed there in the bed and slept on through it, but the flash flood warning had me a little rattled. What if my car floated away? I decided to go out in the rain at 4am and check to see if the pond was rising high enough to threaten my car.

I, it goes without saying, am an idiot.

I got all suited up and grabbed a flashlight and my camera and stomped out into the rain, which was barely coming down. I stepped over a few rushing tributaries in the parking lot, and eventually made it down to the pond. It was coming up, but I determined that my car was in no danger, being a few hundred yards away and up a hill.

I snapped a shot of the gazebo which sits next to the pond's edge because the water was threatening to engulf its floor. The flash scared the shit out of the ducks and geese who were sleeping in the bushes. All manner of flapping and honking ensued, along with some indignant looks. Fucking cheeky geese!

Sadly, the picture did not come out that well.

I went back inside, stripped off my wet clothes, lit a few candles and read myself to sleep, satisfied that my car would fail to become a boat for yet another night.

<-- | Comments(1) | -->