hodgson.diaryland.com

boobs of the dance

I've gotten to the point in writing this thing where I can't remember what I have written about and what I haven't in terms of my life. However, the events I have recalled on my drive home this morning through torrential rain bears repeating even if I have.

When I was in college I spent some time working in the theatre. That's with an "re" which most of you know means "really effeminate". Still, I got to build stuff and hang lights on things and whatnot like that, so I had a good time.

Anyway this one saturday some dance troop (or is it "troupe") came through to do a performance in our theatre. The head theatre guy picked me to be there early saturday morning to help out. Naturally, I didn't let that stop me from going out Friday and trying to drink myself into a stupor.

So, late Friday turns into early Saturday and I know if I go to sleep I'll miss the thing, so I just drive my little pickup truck down to the theatre and park in front of it and go to sleep. The campus police woke me up sometime around when I was supposed to be there wondering just what the fuck I was doing snoozing in my car. I gave him some sort of excuse and went inside.

So basically my job was to sit stage left and wear a pair of headphones in case anyone needed to talk to one of the dancers waiting there about something. No sweat. I put the headphones on and sat down, and the show started.

Now, these dancers were men and women, but what was peculiar about their unitards was that the tops were see through. This wasn't particularly remarkable in the case of the men, but, quite naturally, was very remarkable in the case of the women. I was already drooling from sleep deprivation and alcohol abuse, and the exposed boobies only made it worse.

The dancing was avant garde, which is a french phrase which means "soul-crushingly boring". It consisted mostly of acting like a tree and swaying around. Oh, and showing everyone your tits.

So, I dozed off in my chair there backstage. I woke up once and one of the girls was asking me something. I mumbled at her and she went away.

I went back to sleep and had sweet dreams about tree spirits, and the half naked girls and boys swayed around in the lights, occasionally leaping to and fro.

<-- | Comments(3) | -->