hodgson.diaryland.com

curley bob

I call him Curley Bob because his hair curled wildly off his head, and I don't remember his name. People's names drain out of my head like water out of a bathtub. This effect is only made worse if I don't like you.

Curley Bob annoyed me.

Curley Bob blabbed on and on to me about his real estate business and how he would never hire a black man over a mexican. He was trying to kill me with his boozy talking. I was just there to grab a salad and a couple drinks, maybe flirt with the waitress.

She sat down next to me at the bar in her slinky black dress, and I could feel Curley Bob looking at me. I had a match in my mouth.

I was trying to hold it in my teeth and strike it on the box. I looked over at her.

"Does this make me look like Clint Eastwood?" I asked.

"Oh yeah."

I finally succeeded in striking the match, but I had not calculated the size of the flame relative to the short length of the match. My face was on fire!

I spat the match out. "Jesus christ!"

She got up and ran away, laughing at me.

I watched her run off, and Curley Bob started talking at me again.

<-- | Comments(3) | -->