hodgson.diaryland.com

six buck

Last night I did a gig down in Buckhead for the supporters of some politician. I think he won a race to be a senator or something.

It was supposed to be a songwriters in the round thing, with 4 or 5 guys. That would have meant that I could have played only my songs and not run out of material since I only had to play for a few minutes.

Well, everyone cancelled but me and another fella by the name of YG. YG just so happened to be an extremely good songwriter with assloads of material, so I ran out of originals way before he did and had to dip into the pool of covers I keep in reserve.

I even made one song up on the spot.

Finally it was over. We looked in the tip jar YG had set out, and found $6. Fucking Republicans!

There was some discussion over who would take the $6. I argued that since I had a better day job, he should have it. Neither of us wanted to take it, although I can't figure out quite why.

I ended up taking the six bucks to the bar. I ordered a Crown and coke. It cost $7.

The bartender gave it to me anyway.

I'm $1 in the hole as of my first gig in Buckhead.

<-- | Comments(8) | -->