hodgson.diaryland.com

fucking cars and fucking drivers licenses

To all those of you who are kind (and a little twisted) enough to be interested in what happens to me and how I write about it, I want to let you know that I have, so far, failed to completely vaporize.

I am contiuing to fight the fine city of atlanta for the right to drive here. There are so many hoops to jump through to be able to operate a motor vehicle, and most of them involve taking an entire day off of work to stand in line. This is in direct conflict with my week old new job.

It's all extremely, crushingly frustrating. There is no one to complain to about it. Anyone you do actually talk to is eager to tell you it isn't THEIR fault this is happening and you had better not DARE blame them. They are right, of course, but still. Who do I complain to?

I have to go back to court to defend my car tag and insurance papers because a hardassed cop ticketed me for both when I was within the law. I am very, very sick of all of this. He ticketed me because my insurance card didn't have the VIN number of my new car on it, because I had just changed the policy and not gotten the new card. The policy number on the card I had was valid for me to drive any vehicle on the face of the earth. This matters little to Officer Hardass, who has a boss to impress.

The other day I went outside and noticed that my wrecked Jetta had been removed. The city towed it for having an improper tag. I can't get a tag because it's wrecked. I can't get it out of impound because I just started work and don't get paid for two weeks yet. I have zero money.

They told me I have to have a clear title to obtain a "police release" so the impound company will charge me to get my car back, and charge me to tow it home again, so I can not get a tag because it's wrecked, and have it towed once more probably. Either that or they will sell it at auction in a few weeks. A clear title means I have to pay the car off. See above about not having any money.

I finally went and got my driver's license from the state of Georgia, because I got tired of waiting for them to mail me something telling me what I had to do to get it unsuspended. Alabama never did anything about it. No one I called knew anything at all. I finally got my license, and the clerk asked if I was licensed to drive a motorcycle in Alabama. Alabama licenses every person who passes a car driving test to operate a motorcycle. I replied that I did have a motorcycle license. She gave me a Georgia motorcycle certification on my Georgia license. Two days later I got a piece of mail asking me to come BACK TO THE MOTHER FUCKING DMV AND TAKE ANOTHER MOTHER FUCKING DAY OFF OF MY BRAND NEW JOB THAT I CAN'T FUCKING DRIVE TO AND I AM NOT GETTING PAID TO GO TO SO THAT THEY CAN CORRECT THEIR FUCKING FUCK UP.

Jesus Mother Bloody Fucking Christ In A Yellow Paisley Skirt. I am absolutely astounded by how fucked up this town is.

I took my new-to-me volvo to the emissions place to get the emissions checked so that I could get a tag to drive it. I had to take off of work my first week to do this. I failed hte test because I had to wait 2 hours at the place to get the test done, and during this time the engine got cold. I failed by less than a tenth of a per cent on a single test. I have to spend X amount of dollars on the engine before I can retake the test. See above, no money.

My new job is about 10 miles north of town. I live in the center of town. I absolutely have to drive there. The rail system is so fucking shitty here it makes me ill. All of the counties on the outskirts of town block the city from building rail lines out of town because they don't want their nice white suburbs overrun with those evil inner city minorities. You think I'm kidding. I'm not.

Metro Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority... taking you everywhere no one wants to go.

I'm absolutely livid at the city of Atlanta for repeatedly fucking me right straight up my ass over this whole drivers license/car thing. I just want to drive to work and pay outrageous taxes for fuck's sake. Leave me alone.

All of this has utterly exhausted my ability to write and to enjoy life in my normal manner, which is basically a placid amusement at events in the world. Every day I have to make about 25 phone calls to various people to try to get back in the good, and every time I think I am done they fuck me over again. No one I talk to gives a shit. No one is in any hurry to help me.

Anyway, that's why I haven't been writing, for those of you who have asked about it. I'll be back soon.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->