hodgson.diaryland.com

booty got big

I picked up another scratch again in the same place where I got a scar last year.

My lips clipped words in missives, yes and seemed to me to contain the best or at least a little imagination.

I am constantly annoyed at the way that people write songs using the same old interchangeable cliches that have been composing popular music for ages.

Let's get some new metaphor, people. Some original allegory. Please!

I strive very hard to come up with original phrases and such, but I think my efforts are largely unappreciated. I showed the above song to a girl who does open mic nights with me and she said "What is this song about?".

"Well I have this problem" I started.

"You don't know what your songs are about?" she interrupted.

"No, I hate songs that say things I have heard said before, so I try to write songs that seem to me to not be quite so mundane"

She wasn't the least bit impressed, but I think that may have been a result of an earlier exchange where I concluded that since she was of Russian heritage, she should endeavor to find out if they have fighting cows there.

Yes, I am the mack daddy.

I am reminded of a song written by a gentleman named Ronald May, who I met in Birmingham through a friend. The song must be sung at the top of your lungs at all times, and the words go like this:

MY GIRL USED TO HAVE A SKINNY BOOTY
SKINNY BOOTY
I SAID MY GIRL USED TO HAVE A SKINNY BOOTY
SKINNY BOOTY
MY GIRL USED TO HAVE A SKINNY BOOTY
SKINNY BOOTY
BUT.. THE...
BOOTY GOT BIG AND THE BOOTY GOT BIG
AND THE BOOTY GOT BIG CAUSE THE BOOTY GOT BIG
... and so forth.

A finer example of songwriting I am hard pressed to imagine.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->