hodgson.diaryland.com

porch dreams

I lay out on the porch inhaling the smoke of a cigarette, seriously addicted. The smoke was robbing me of my life, but I puffed on and puffed on.

A party went on a few houses away. I could hear them folding over one another with their conversation.

I got up.

I walked across the street to the porch where they were all talking to one another, and stood under it, waiting for them to notice me. A guy with long hair turned around.

"Hi?" he asked.

"Hi. I'm Jack. Can I come to your party?"

"Uh sure, dude."

I walked up the few short steps to the porch and joined them. I introduced myself to everyone there, and made small talk. After talking to all of the people on the porch, I went inside to where the stereo was blaring. I stood next to it.

I was alone with the stereo that was shouting all over the neighborhood. I turned it down a little bit.

No one noticed.

I turned it down a little bit more.

The guy whose house it was poked his head in the room and looked at me. I waved to him.

"Who are you?"

"Charles. I live across the street. I asked the people on the porch if I could come to your party."

"Oh. Well cool, man. Nice to have you. I'll be right back"

He left. I turned the stereo down some more.

The guy came back.

"Hi again. Are you fuckign with the stereo?"

"No."

"Yes you are."

"Sorry, I really like this song."

"Then why are you turning it down?"

"Oh yeah. Well it's keeping me up at my house."

"I think you'd better go."

"Okay."

I went home and laid down on the porch again.

I woke up on the porch and the stereo blared loudly. I'm glad I didn't go over there.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->