hodgson.diaryland.com

180mm of 4130

I cranked hard on 180mm of 4130, turning gears and wheels to shoot me over the lip of a huge hill off of my street. Some bitch pulled her soccer-loving SUV out in front of me, and I cut hard to miss her.

I zipped down my hill, my form elongating and streaking out behind me.

I leaned into a slow right, looking for cars. One, way back. I cranked hard to gain speed and zipped along the parked cars, waiting for a driveway where I could get up into the sidewalk.

I saw one, but some lady was shuffling along with a scraggly dog who looked like a just-exploded hair firecracker. I kept going, the car drawing up on me.

I made it. I cut right, and cranked to get another jolt of speed and POW. My chain jumped off the cranks like a live snake off of a hot plate. I knew I was going down. The seconds stretched.

"OH!" I yelled, then my left elbow hit, and SMACK, my head. I skidded to a stop on my side. I looked at the concrete an inch from my nose. A button from my coat landed there, and spun on its edge for a split second, then danced to a halt.

I got up. I looked at myself. No bones protruding. My head was rattled but okay, thanks to my helmet. My left arm was scraped up. I walked around a little bit.

I looked at the gash in my helmet. If I hadn't been wearing that thing my head would be gouged open.

A woman in a chest brace walked slowly by, talking on a cell phone. She looked at me, then at my bike. She went inside her house.

I turned the bike upside down and wound the chain back on it.

I got back on and cranked 180mm of 4130.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->