hodgson.diaryland.com

murky grandpa

I can't understand my grandfather.

He is about 76 years old. He doesn't have the slightest idea what I do professionally, or what I want to do artistically.

He won't call me, but he will get upset if I don't call him.

He likes to talk about Auburn football, but that's about it.

I know I'm being inconsiderate by not calling him, but hell, I don't call anyone. I just assume that if I don't hear from you, you are ok, and the same goes with me.

I talk to my favorite cousin about once every six months. She's a stock broker in New York. Sometimes we go a year without talking, and we don't get all crabby about it.

I need to be more considerate.

Once when my parents were breaking up my mom told me that I should be coming to live with her instead of my father. She said that she and my grandfather loved me, but if I didn't come live with her...

She left off there, and left me to ponder the consequences in the front yard of a church in Alabama.

Ever since then I haven't felt the same about her and my grandfather, but I don't want to bring it up. She's battling cancer and all that. I don't want to dredge up a lot of hurt for her when she may not be around long.

I just want to finish the fucking CD that I have been waiting my whole life to produce.

The future is murky.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->