hodgson.diaryland.com

blind faith and madness

Someone whose opinion I respect has called me an asshole for my behavior over the holidays with a particular young lady.

Maybe I am one.

I believe in romance. I have no qualms about writing love poetry and sending flowers.

However, sometimes the best course of action is to act like an alpha-male prick.

Women are incredibly beautiful and complex creatures. There is no finer pleasure than coming up with some little verse or joke that makes her face glow with a smile that melts you to your very bones.

But sometimes you are just two damaged people who don't want to spend the night alone, and you act your roles out of blind faith and madness. You can't always be Romeo y Julietta.

Sometimes you either have to be, or want to be a shit.

I don't write about it because I'm proud. I write about it because it happened to me, just like all the times when I was on the other end happened to me too. I also wrote about them.

I'm not a genius. I am not special. I'm just a dude. I hurt, and I am hurt.

I fuck up constantly, but I try to do my best. If I seem like an asshole in the process, then maybe I am one.

We're all assholes, or geniuses, depending on the day. You're never as good as you think you are, and they are never as bad as they seem.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->