hodgson.diaryland.com

dying one measure at a time

So, as of tonight's practice, everything has gone to hell in a handbasket.

We joined this band on the basis that they were gigging currently, and that they were doing a showcase.

Well, the A&R guy who was supposed to be coming to hear them turns out to be some schmuck in a signed band who might be able to get the cd in front of some A&R people.

Also, they aren't gigging.

I asked point-blank how often they were gigging and the answer I got was a list of places they had played before.

To cap it all off, the bass player (whom we have dubbed "Sonic", because he resembles a hedgehog) wrote a song with the singer which is in 3/4 time, then changes into 4/4 for the chorus. I asked why there was a time change, because I firmly believe that frivolous time changes are the mark of amateurs. Professionals add time changes to help the song. Amateurs add them to sound like professionals. You can always tell the difference.

He said "There's not a time change. It's in 4/4."

A heated debate followed, in which I counted along with the verse to show him that although he had played along with a metronome, he had used it incorrectly.

Oy vey.

I said to Greg outside during a smoke break, "I'm dying one minute at a time in there."

"More like one measure at a time."

"Yeah that sounds better."

<-- | Comments(0) | -->