hodgson.diaryland.com

corporate fuckoff

I fell down 3 times today.

All on purpose.

I was in a chair in my work area, with my knees in the seat, facing the back of the chair. It was an Aeron, naturally, as I work for a startup.

I was sort of leaning over in it, right on the edge of falling, so I just thought "What the hell".

I fell over.

The thing that people don't really realize about falling is that it doesn't hurt. Your body can withstand a lot more punishment than it normally has to. Since falling over is something of a rareity in most people's lives, they forget that it doesn't hurt if you do it right.

I didn't hurt myself. My coworkers laughed at me for falling over. I decided to do it again.

I fell over again.

This time there was less laughter and more strange looks. I also fell on my keycards and cracked them both.

Later on the Vice President of Development came around to our area. My coworkers told him about how I fell over, so I did it again to demonstrate.

He regarded Mike and said "You remember what we were talking about earlier? This is why."

Drawing on my powers of deductive reasoning, I gather that he means that they passed me over for a promotion because I'm not serious enough.

Not like them.

Not stable and dependable.

Ladies and gentlemen I am most definately never going to get promoted much past where I am professionally because I don't know how to be a fucking normal human being.

It's beautiful.

It's depressing.

Now what?


Hear this entry in mp3 format, read by the author

<-- | Comments(0) | -->