hodgson.diaryland.com

sign of the times

When I was younger, one of my favorite things to do was to drive. When I finally got my license I was driving a Ford Bronco. I had a lot of fun in that automobile.

My friend Jake Dylan and I used to just ride around with nowhere to go. Sometimes we would go to the bowling alley and shoot pool, or to the waffle house to drink coffee and talk.

The funniest things we did involved dangerous acts while driving. One of thse acts of vandalism was to run over signs in people's yards. I have no idea why this was so amusing, but when I would hit a sign with the front of my car I would laugh until I cried.

I never got caught.

I would creep up over the curb and run along the front of the yard and then, bap! The sign would go down.

I would drive out of there as fast as I could and then stop just to so that we could laugh our heads off. We also would sometimes steal 'for sale' signs and put our junior high school up for sale.

It seems now as though all of those days were filled with laughter and incredible acts of futile angst, but I remember there being boredom as well. Vast boredom.

Still, I would go back in a heartbeat if I could.


Hear this entry in mp3 format, read by the author

<-- | Comments(0) | -->