hodgson.diaryland.com

having a little trouble

My mother likes to tell a story about a stupid thing I did when I was a kid. My family owned a large blue Chevrolet station wagon which was affectionately named The Tuna Boat.

I liked to ride in the back.

I liked to roll around when the turns came, and when Mom hit the brakes. She hit the brakes a lot. She also did a number on our mailbox, swiping it on numerous occasions with the lengthy car. It was dented in on one side.

Well, in the back of this particular vehicle between the rear wheel wells and the end of the car, there was a compartment. It was a very small compartment.

I decided to get in it and shut the door. I figured I could just push the door open. I clambered into the compartment. I pulled the door shut.

I was stuck.

Had I known at the time how to swear, I would have.

My parents were very concerned about what language I used. I was encouraged to read as much as possible, and my parents never talked baby-talk to me. They always spoke like adults. It was for this reason that when I started to yell to get out of the compartment I yelled like I thought an adult would.

"Help! Help! I'm having a little trouble!"


Hear this entry in mp3 format, read by the author

<-- | Comments(0) | -->