hodgson.diaryland.com

immortal beloved

There is almost nothing so sweet as the drifting few moments between when you are awake and asleep at night.

I sleep on the floor, with a single pillow and a single blanket, with music pouring into my head like sweet cream. I spread out like Christ, with my arms wide, and let it wash over me. Music is better than any drugs, and I have had my share of both.

When I was a kid I would listen to blues albums as I was falling asleep, and in my last cognizant moments I could translate the chops and barks of the guitar solos into english. Sometimes the buzz I would get from listening to these masters roll it out would frighten me, but I have learned to swim in it.

Once I tried to fall asleep listening to Beethoven's 9th symphony (the version from Immortal Beloved), and the 4th movement fucking exploded my heart with the most incredible energy that I charged around the room, laughing and dancing.

That shit is just too high powered for anything but a prepared listening. I can't even drive on it.

I've been known to swerve.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->