hodgson.diaryland.com

all the gin joints in all the world

This house is pretty old, and houses that are pretty old usually have some odd tidbits about them here and there.

The stairway that goes upstairs to Walter, Alice, and my rooms is sort of narrow and creaky and has some nails poking out of the steps in places. They don't stick out very far, just a bit. I took a hammer to them once and pounded them back in, but they just worked themselves out again.

Anyway, yesterday I tripped on the way up the stairs and put my hand down on one of them. It gouged me pretty good, and I started to bleed. Well, super.

Now, normally I don't much worry about cuts and scrapes, but considering I was cut with a stairway, and stairways get walked on by nasty shoes and feet a good bit, I elected to look for some peroxide.

Instead I found a Frog and a Becky. I held my cut up to Becky. She leaned backward away from it.

"I need some peroxide."

She went to look in all the places I had just looked for some peroxide, but came up empty.

"Now, how is it that a clumsy bunch of motherfuckers in this house can go without a bottle of peroxide around?" I asked.

"We are living on the edge, apparently." Beck confirmed.

"I could pour some tequila on it," I suggested.

"We have gin"

Beck and I went into the kitchen and she got a bottle of Bombay Sapphire and handed it to me. I peeled the hanging skin off my hand to expose the cut. I uinscrewed the cap and poured the gin in.

Boy, that fucking hurt.

<-- | Comments(5) | -->