hodgson.diaryland.com

not so much, the artist

Becky and I went to see one of her clients play a gig. She's the artist representation maven, so her job is to help people get recognition. Some of her clients are very good. Some not so much. Being a professional, however, she does excellent work for all of them.

The one we went to see this particular night was a "not so much".

He's hired an incredible band, and the music really isn't terrible, but there's no snap to it whatsoever, and his vocals are atrocious. To add to this, his stage presence is basically that of a 13 year old girl. No shit. Giggles and all. He's a good lookin fella, and he's definitely got the right people behind his project (i.e. Becky), but that whole not-being-able-to-sing thing is holding him back a bit perhaps in addition to acting like a girl scout.

Another thing about this guy is he's widely known to be gay, but he maintains not only that he's hetero, but has a hot girlfriend to boot. I can't understand it. He must be miserable.

He walked in with the hot girlfriend, and I stared at her. She was very hot. He pretended not to know who Becky was. Then he noticed her after she gave a little wave. He said "Oh, hi!". Still, I stared at the girlfriend. They walked off. I stared a bit more.

"He always pretends to not know me like that," Becky said.

"Cool of him"

Anyway, Becky made me swear not to look at her during the show for fear of busting out laughing in front of her client. I promised, but I had no idea what I was promising. Once it started, I discovered he had this little head shake plus schoolgirl giggle maneuver he would do sometimes that really made me want to crack up. I poked her in the arm. I knew she saw it too because her lips were pressed together tightly to force back the grins. I poked her a bit more to get her to look at me, and she became frantic, swatting at me and trying not to laugh. Then we really had to suck it up because the hot girlfriend came over and STOOD VERY CLOSE TO ME.

Oh my.

I decided I better not try to pick her up since she's the purported girlfriend of Becky's client and I wouldn't want to make Becky's life any stranger than it already is, living with us, but she stood VERY close to me and kept glancing up at me. I turned my back to her. She went away.

Whew.

They stopped playing and we collected his merchandise. Someone had swiped a CD.

"That's the first of his CDs willingly taken by anyone." Becky said.

Ouch.

<-- | Comments(3) | -->