hodgson.diaryland.com

yet even more jail

A fastidious-looking asian sherrif's deputy came to get the people in the room in groups of three and four. He took them out of the small room we were in and didn't bring them back. he looked sort of small to be eating all those people, but who knew?

I squirmed on the nasty jail floor and wiggled myself under the bench where the fluorescent light wasn't as harsh, trying to sleep. I dozed fitfully between outbursts from Mr Bud.

"You damn coon!" he shouted about the large black deputy who walked past the door. "Let me outta here!"

A few of the black people in the cell with us looked up at his racial epithet, but they didn't seem to much care.

Mr Bud shuffled over to the door and its large bulletproof glass window. he pounded on it.

"Hey!" he shouted. "Hey! Hey there!"

The large black deputy came over and unlocked it in a mostly bored fashion.

"Yeah?" the deputy said.

"Yes sir, I was wondering if I could please use the bathroom... I mean the phones, sir." Mr Bud stammered.

"You will get to make a phonecall soon enough" the deputy intoned.

"Okay, sir, thank you sir, yes sir"

He was calling you a coon a minute ago, deputy I thought, but didn't say.

The deputy shut the door again and went back to his place in the island of desks in the center of the room onto which all the holding cell doors opened.

"Muthafucker!" shouted Mr Bud again.

He shuffled back away from the door, mouthing off to the deputies quietly and talking about how he would kill his wife when he got out.

I stared at the blue metal screen which obscured the toilet. It had holes poked in it at random intervals in a diagonal pattern so that you couldn't hide behind it. Someone had scratched the word "Mexico" into the paint. The "o" in "Mexico" made a ring around one of the holes. Someone must have had some damn sharp fingernails to have scratched that, I thought.

I sang quietly to myself inside my head as I dozed off restlessly.

Oh, Mexico
It sounds so sweet with the sun sinking low
Moon's so bright like to light up the night
Make everything all right

<-- | Comments(4) | -->