hodgson.diaryland.com

yet more jail

I was examining the locks on the cell door because there wasn't much else to stare at, and because I had already examined the smoke alarm (such as I could). The locks in jail are big slots, and I think you can open them from either side, if you have the right key.

I did not have the right key. In fact, I didn't have any keys because the lady up front had put them in a baggie after one of the deputies dug them out of my pants pocket. This was before he cupped my balls.

Just then, the right key stuck itself in the other side of the lock, dragging a sherrif's deputy behind it.

"Okay, everyone out, let's go" the deputy said.

There were three of us in there at the time. Myself, Mr Bud, and a guy with his hair braided into a corkscrew design on his head all filed out and sat on a bench as directed. Shortly we were called up to positions around the big desk area in the center of the holding cells. Someone had made a box on the floor out of tape.

"Stand in that box, there" the deputy told me. I stood in that box, there.

I was in front of a nice older lady, who was behind a little window like a bank teller. She had a camera that was supposed to point at me, but part of the metal stalk that the camera lived on was broken, so it sort of lolled back, pointing at the ceiling.

She asked me some questions, and I told her the answers. She reached over and helped the lolling camera to point at me, took my picture, and then gave me some papers that said what I was charged with, what my inmate ID was, and how much my bail would be. Corkscrew, Mr Bud and I were all then shuffled into a different cell than before, where we took up varying positions around the room.

I sat against the wall, and Mr Bud sat next to me.

"Iss COHD in here!" he yelled. "Why is it so COHD?"

No one answered him. I wished he would shut up.

"Why don't these motherfuckers let us OUT? I hate these motherfuckers!" he continued.

I sat cross-legged with my elbows on my knees and my face in my hands, trying to snooze. I wondered when I would get to make a phone call.

<-- | Comments(3) | -->