hodgson.diaryland.com

Juice me up

I came home and Becky was driving up. She got out of her dad's big Bronco thing that she had for the week and walked toward the door.

"BECKAH!" I yelled.

"Jimmmm!" she said. "How was your day?"

"ah, you know, same old shit". We walked together to the door after our customary hug.

We both went inside and sat in her room chatting a bit with a few of the other roommates. Frog and Shayla were abset due to a trip to Target. Our house is a big supporter of Target.

Shortly, however, Frog burst in with plastic bags of his items from Target. We all got up and went into the kitchen to see what he'd gotten. There was a box on the floor with a new charcoal grill in it.

"I got a grill," he said, grinning his slightly evil grin.

"You cooking?" I asked him.

"Well, I have to test it out"

"Did you get enough food for the whole class?"

"Well, lately it seems that you guys have failed to chip in on food purchases"

I brought out some cash.

"Let's eat!" he chirped.

And so began a house-wide effort to cook the food he'd bought with his new grill. Becky set up a stereo on the porch, Shayla stapled white christmas lights around out there, and Frog and I put his grill together, dumped in the charcoal, and then came damned close to blowing the house up lighting it.

I had some pieces of paper from the charcoal bag that I was lighting on fire and then running around with, until Becky admonished us.

"Stop that! You're making me nervous!" she said, stomping off in a huff.

Frog and I watched her walk away.

I held out the last piece of paper and gestured at the bottle of lighter fluid he was holding.

"Juice me" I said.

He juiced me. I lit the paper in the fire, the resulting fireball from the lighter fluid removing most of the hair from my hand. I hooted loudly and flapped my arm with the still-burning paper in it, jumping around. A very delighted Frog looked on.

We had cold beer, good friends, a hot grill, and a fuckton of food.

Summer is almost here.

<-- | Comments(4) | -->