hodgson.diaryland.com

rejected cartoonist

Shockingly, I did not get the cartoonist gig. The editor emailed me a copy of one of the cartoons he had paid for, to demonstrate to me how much better it was than what I had sent him.

I saved it and opened it up, and was presented with a 1600x1600 image of a large hand-drawn cartoon in the typical political cartoon style. They all look the same to me.

I can understand being rejected on the basis of my shitty drawing, but the simple fact is that I am unable to recall a single political cartoon that I thought was funny, or interesting even. I thought about arguing my rejection based on some sort of lofty goal of revitalizing political cartoonism with my new artistic voice, and citing the fact that all political cartoons seem to resemble one another.

In the end I just said "Well yeah, but look how BIG that thing is! It's never going to fit in your paper!"

<-- | Comments(7) | -->