hodgson.diaryland.com

political cartoonist

There is a small newspaper out in California which posts the police blotter of their area to their webpage. It's very well-written for a police blotter. I have read it a few times.

As I was looking over their page yesterday, I noticed a blinking advertisement asking for a political cartoonist. As I always do with anything at all creative, I thought to myself "Hell, I can do that." I emailed the editor.

Problem was he wanted samples of my work. I told him I would do a "first one's free" sort of an arrangement with him, but he was having none of it. He wanted samples of my work.

Damn his eyes.

So I spent last night whipping up some samples of my artwork. Here's the first picture I drew of our nation's president:

Problem with this is, first of all, it's not a cartoon, and secondly, it looks nothing at all like president Bush.

I decided I had best try to come up with something vaguely resembling a cartoon. Here's the cartoon character I came up with:

The paper is called The Eye, you see, so that's an eye over the city in California where it's located. The state is running, also, though there is no available data on what it's running to or from in this picture.

Since that isn't much of a cartoon, I decided I had better have that state thing actually doing something or the editor was going to think me a fuckface royale. Here's what I came up with:

I'm going to send him links to these today, but as he's an accomplished editor and not a drunken half-blind goldfish with a penchant for bad art, I don't think I'm going to get the job. You never know, though!

<-- | Comments(8) | -->