hodgson.diaryland.com

million billion gazillion

Once when I was a kid my dad and I walked out of a deli together after a couple of sandwiches. We saw a guy my dad knew, who was a jeweler.

My dad called to him, and the guy walked over.

They exchanged pleasantries, and the guy questioned me about how school was going.

"Good" I told him.

"So what's up?" Dad asked him.

"Oh just carrying some stuff back to my store." he said.

"Let's see,"

The guy reached into his pocket and flopped out a little plastic baggie with a giant diamond in it. It looked about the size of a baseball to me.

"Holy Fuckass McTitsface" my dad said. He didn't really say that, but he did use a swear which was equally unintelligible to me, but which I still knew was a swear.

The guy grinned.

"How much is that worth?" Dad asked.

"Seventy five hundred" said the guy.

My brain didn't even register this amount. At the time it was like a million billion gazillion. A sum too large to be thought of.

"Christ fucking a motorhome," said Dad "We gotta go."

We said our goodbyes and went back to our car to drive home.

"Wow." I said to dad.

"Can't believe he was just walking around with that thing. He flopped it out like it was nothing."

Dad and I got back in the car and drove home, and a guy walked back to his shop with a rock in his pocket that was worth a million billion gazillion dollars.

<-- | Comments(8) | -->