hodgson.diaryland.com

too early to shout about it

Fall is waiting under everything like excitement, too early to shout about it.

I wrote a letter and included some poems, but in the end I figured I was wasting my time, so I reopened the envelope and removed them, then wrote some bullshit story in my illegible handwriting to go in their place.

Sometimes you are best off just keeping it to yourself.

I tore the page up and burned it outside in the big sand pot for putting out cigarettes. I watched the flames lick up my little words and phrases, and I singed the hair off the underside of my right arm on accident.

Dogs barked, husbands and wives woke up to go to work, and Fall waited for me under everything like excitement. Enough to make you smile, but too early to shout about it.

It was 6 am.

<-- | Comments(6) | -->