hodgson.diaryland.com

space monkey

silently on the ready, behind my metal door
I am strapped down into my cockpit, staring down a count of t minus four
they have checked out all the meters, and twisted all the dials
and it's about t minus three
with a rocket under me
and I'm a hundred pounds of monkey style

my lips don't think about quivering, my hands they never shake
it ain't no thing but a rocket ship, baby, being shot out into space
liftoff drop me in the pocket of accelerated newton's law gravity
cause you know that I can handle when you light my candle, it's nothing but a rocket to me

wide open wonder
atmosphere displaced
six thousand miles an hour
on the day they shot a monkey into space

scratch the skin of the universe, and I fall away back home
six thousand miles an hour, on the surface of the sun's third stone
splashdown right about lunchtime, and I'm taking on a little sea
but you can dust me off, men,
and strap me in again
cause it's nothing but a rocket to me

<-- | Comments(0) | -->