hodgson.diaryland.com

nolo contendre

I talked to our corporate lawyer about my court case. I had to go in and get fined for smacking into a dude on 10th street.

The lawyer said "Plead Nolo Contendre. They'll be lenient on you".

I talked to another lawyer friend of my dad's. "Plead Nolo." he said.

I generally got the idea that I should plead nolo.

I shuffled into the courtroom with the other offenders, wearing my only suit. Most of the other people were in jeans and sweatshirts, so I didn't feel too bad.

They called my name.

"How do you plead?"

"Nolo Contendre"

"I won't accept that." the judge said, leaning back in his chair to demonstrate his contempt for my plea.

"Uh." I said.

"How ELSE do you want to plead?"

"Um, uh. Guilty?"

"Okay. I'm suspending your license, and fining you $500. Go stand over there."

I went and stood over there.

Some fucking legal advice I got.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->