hodgson.diaryland.com

synchronicity, lost keys

Tom Vines and I packed our crap up and walked out of the office for the day. I hit the lights and shut the door. I was running on about three hours sleep and a cup of coffee.

We rode the elevator down one floor, because we are lazy bastards, and headed out of the building.

Tom was telling me about his football glory days. He went to school on a full scholarship in college.

"And I've thrown 300 pound motherfuckers around before... just remember that shit, AIGHT?"

I laughed.

"Later man," he said.

"Later, shitbird."

I walked over to my car and dug in my pocket for my keys. Nothing. I was parked about 300 miles out into the parking lot.

Fuck.

I turned around.

I walked back up through the parking lot, other employees streaming out of it like a stepped-on ant pile. I swam upstream.

I have always been an incredibly lucky person. When things happen to me that seem to be shitty, it never fails to turn out for the best. It is chiefly for this reason that I believe in God, although I do not go to church, and i fornicate with abandon whenever possible.

I went back into the office and grabbed my keys, then turned around and walked back into the hall to hit the elevator button. As I rounded the corner I saw Isabella waiting for the elevator.

That God, he's a funny fella.

She walked over to me.

"I bet you don't even remember my name," she said, her voice a purr.

"Isabella." I said.

She smiled.

The elevator dinged open.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->