hodgson.diaryland.com

warm feet, and fearsome plants

My heater was broken. I was freezing my ass off.

I shivered in my apartment, walking over to the stove. I thought about turning it on and leaving the door open, but for some reason that seemed like a bad idea. I turned one of the eyes on to warm my hands up. The gas jets came on with a 'floomp' sound. I like that sound.

I went outside to have a smoke, and my neighbor was out on her porch too. She lives in the house next to mine. She smokes on the porch a lot, but I can never think of anything really to say to her. I can tell that she would like me to talk to her, because she always smiles at me, but I can't think of anything to say.

Also there is a plant on her railing which obscures her. No man can escape that plant. It blocks her face, and doesn't make me feel conversational.

I paced around on my porch, puffing on my cigarette, and she smiled on her porch, safe behind her impenetrable plant. I stopped pacing.

"It's really cold," I said, loudly, so she would hear me. She made a shighing noise, which could have been laughter, but the plant hid her face. I was going to talk some more, but I was struck by a good idea at that point, so I went back inside.

I decided I should put my electronic keybaord in my bed, under the covers, and turn it on, thereby warming the sheets up for my impending arrival. This turned out to be, if I may say so, a stroke of genius.

If my feet are warm when I go to bed, I am a happy man. It felt so good I giggled to myself.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->