hodgson.diaryland.com

gasoline in my veins

Saturday for most of the day I watched the Petit le Mans on tv. I love road races. It was going on at Road Atlanta, and I really wanted to go out there, but I didnt want to go by myself.

Mike called at about 6:30 to ask if I wanted to do anything.

"HELL YES" I shouted into the phone, "GET OVER HERE".

He showed up and I met him outside. We piled into my car and drove the 45 minutes up to the track. I kept my foot in it the whole way. Thankfully, no cops.

When we got there it was already dark. We wondered where exactly the track was, but then we both saw a flash of headlights blast through the trees at impossible speed.

We ran to the gate.

The old lady at the gate waved us through, since the race was pretty much over. We trotted down to the track and took up a position on the last turn before the finish.

It is a crest of a hill that leads to a diving left. An excellent spot. I wanted to be at the chicane, but since i barely got there on time I just stuck with what I had.

I was calling out the cars to Mike as they roared by.

"That's the Audi, he's winning. Panoz, Porsche, Porsche, BMW M3 (the new one), and.. and" Mike nodded and smiled, although I don't know that he cared that much.

It was so exciting to see the cars ripping past us like that. I can't wait to go back next year.

As we were leaving we saw a kid with a used racing slick and a huge carbon fiber body panel trying to get up the hill.

"How ya doing, chief?" I asked him. "Is that carbon fiber?" I examined his find. It's really cool stuff up close. It looked sort of like an air filter on the inside.

The kid and his impossibly huge piece of a race car trundled up the hill as Mike and I watched the ceremonies in the winner's circle.

I can not wait to go back. I wish next year's Petit le Mans were this weekend.

I LOVE YOU AMERICAN LE MANS RACING SERIES. I LOVE YOU DON PANOZ.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->