hodgson.diaryland.com

ghosting from stoplight to stoplight

Today is an excellent day for not going outside. It's cool and dark in my cave, and the quiet whirr of machines whispers in a perpetual sigh. I don't really have anything to do but sit here and listen to CD's, but then again, there's not much I'd rather be doing either.

About 200 yards to the west, in another brick and mortar cave, my clothes are tumbling over one another in a concerted effort to clean themselves. Soon I will have to go over and shuffle them into the dryer. Someday I will design a robot manservant so incredibly smart that it can handle these minor tasks for me.

Then I will sell the robot to people and make enough money so as to hire a REAL manservant to handle the menial tasks. Of course, at that point one of the manservant's duties will be to handle the business of selling the robot manservants, but I digress.

Later I will probably drive around my new town as the sun escapes to char the other side of the world. I like cruising around town in my car, exploring the city to the tune of Miles or Jimi or Coltrane.

Sometimes there's comfort in letting the long shadows of seedy parts of town slide over you, knowing you will probably never see these streets again, or zipping from lane to lane in the rich section of town, marvelling at the fancy wrought iron gates.

Wherever you are, you can ghost from stoplight to stoplight, spying from your tinted windows as lovers walk their dogs, homeless men shuffle from alley to alley, and the children of the world go about their evening business.

It's funny how your perception of a street you drive often changes from the first time you drive it to the last. I like to recapture that first drive by driving down many streets.

I want to look for beauty wherever I go.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->