hodgson.diaryland.com

no sun today

I woke up, feeling good. It was deathly quiet in my hotel room. I could tell that it was cold outside, but in the womb of my bed I was toasty warm. Soon I got bored. It was still dark out.

My sister was sleeping in her bed across the small room, and I didn't want to wake her, so I pulled a sweater on and grabbed up my book. I went down to the lobby to get some reading in.

We had just arrived in London earlier that morning, at about 10am. We were tired as hell and ready for some sleep when we got in, so I was tottering around the hotel with a book in my hand at 3am London time.

I arrived at the lobby. I went out on the front steps of our hotel and watched Londoners scramble about their business. I smelled the cold air of an entirely different country, and shared a cigarette with the narrow street.

Soon I got tired and pushed the glass doors open, finding the night shift guy behind the counter.

"Hi" I said.

"Yes, sir?"

"I was wondering, what time does the sun come up around here?"

"I'm sorry?"

"The sun, what time does it come up"

"The sun?"

"Yes."

"Oh. Not today."

<-- | Comments(0) | -->