hodgson.diaryland.com

mall water

I spent the day today looking after two little girls, one four years old and the other two. Their mother, who is a friend of mine and my first true love, had a doctor's appointment.

As we were getting in to the car the two year old was shouting my name.

"Jimmmeeeeeeee!" she exclaimed happily.

"Aidaaaaan!" I called back. This went on for 5 minutes or so, both of us giggling. We all piled in to the car and went to drop Mom off.

While she was in the doctor's office, the girls and I took a trip to the mall. It was there that we set a dangerous precedent.

I let them splash around in the mall fountain.

I figured, fuck, I'd like to do that. No one would ever let me do that when I was a kid. I didn't understand it then, and I don't now. They loved it. The rule was that as long as they kept their feet on the floor, they could lean over and splash with their hands. I splashed along.

Other kids would come up with their moms and dads, and say "OOOh! Mommy can we do that?". None of their parents would let them splash in the fountain, let alone splash with them. I got a few dirty looks, but the girls had a blast.

After we went and picked their mom up they both hugged me tightly and told me they loved me.

Today I learned that eating at Wendy's with small children is an hour long production at least, fraught with chicken nuggets in hair, and ketchup on faces. On the other hand, all it takes is some water and an irresponsible babysitter to win a little girl's heart.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->