hodgson.diaryland.com

she's made of sunshine

Frog and I had been at it all day.

When I got home at about 6am, he was elbows deep in the Chevy 350 powerplant of Walter's 1980 Suburban which had overheated the night before. It was one of the three cars which had failed me on the way to work.

We got a new water pump for it, and got it all back together over the course of the next couple of hours, then used it to drive to the other two fucked up cars on the side of the interstate.

I had been up for 20 hours, I was covered in grease, grime, and brake dust, it was raining, and car number two was just about done. Its battery had shit, apparently.

What a terrible day it was for this sort of activity. It was grey and drizzling a wet, cold rain. I felt like french fried dog ass, and must have looked the part by this time.

Alice and Becky showed up in Alice's firebird. Frog had called them to come up and drive the subaru (who had just gotten a new lease on life thanks to a battery with some juice) back to the house while we concentrated on car number three, my volvo.

Alice and Becky climbed out of Alice's car. They were clean and well rested. The cold, grey wind blew my dirty hair around on my tired and grimy forehead like it blows trash around an alley, but it pushed Alice's hair back from her face and made her look like an angel just landing from heaven.

She put her little arms around my right arm and stood next to me, smiling.

"Jim fuzz... " she said. That's her nickname for me. I don't really know why, since my nickname for her is Shit Bird.

I just looked at her, too stupid and tired and ugly to talk to her.

She smiled at me.

"She looks like she was made from sunshine" my brain said, and the words clattered around in my dirty head.

<-- | Comments(3) | -->