hodgson.diaryland.com

car trouble

Tonight I left the house to go to work. I was driving along, happy as could be. I had the stereo up, windows down, singing along at the top of my lungs.

So I'm driving on the interstate through the north end of town there, and there's a big slowdown on the interstate. Some poor driver has had a wreck up ahead and everyone's slowed down.

So as I am slowing down, my car is acting funny, like I have put it in the wrong gear. I shuffle the gears around a bit, but that doesnt help, and eventually the car goes dead. I try to start it, no deal.

So, dead car, middle of 6 lanes of traffic, Atlanta rush hour. Super.

I push the thing off the road, make a few phone calls, and grab a tire iron out of the back. I pop the hood to wait for my friends to come get me and start banging on the internals of the car.

I hope this will get it started again, but mostly I just want to teach it a lesson.

"Why won't you start?" I yell into the engine compartment. A guy in a convertible BMW is parked next to me with a cellphone to his head waiting for the wreck to clear.

"I can't catch a break!" I yell at him.

"One of those days, huh?" he says, moving off with the slow pace of traffic.

So Madison and Alice come pick me up and take me home where I jump into Walter's Suburban.

"Careful," he says, "I think the coolant is low."

So he and I pour some coolant in the thing and I head off to work. A mile or so down the road the coolant light comes on. I pull over for the second time, and call him to tell him what's happening.

I end up driving his Suburban home and hopping in his Subaru since I will be home from work before he needs it. I pull it out of hte driveway and get 2 blocks down the street before I notice that all his dash indicator lights are on.

I call him and ask him if that's normal. He says "Well, no that's not normal, but nothing's wrong with it. Just drive it. Give it hell."

So, I head to work for the third time. I am bopping along, windows down, stereo up, when guess what.

THE THIRD CAR IN ONE DAY BREAKS DOWN ON ME.

I call Walter yet again, and he comes to get me with J-rock and Jrock's car. They drop me off at work, and I call my insurance company through whom I have roadside assistance.

The nice lady at Progressive tells me they can't send anyone to tow it because I won't be there with the car when they get there, so they don't want to move it! Hah!

Jeez. I think I need to get a job closer to home and just bike to it.

<-- | Comments(8) | -->