hodgson.diaryland.com

open letter to america

When I got to work the first pictures were already on CNN. We all huddled around the television and listened and watched as it unfolded.

I got a call from my crazy friend Dave who was stuck downtown at a cafe. I went down to get him but someone had called in a bomb threat at the courthouse, so the area was roped off.

I was standing there talking to a guy with a TV camera when my phone rang. It was my dad.

"With all that's happened today I just wanted to let you know I love you." he said.

I hope that through all of this tragedy, Americans start feeling proud to be Americans again, instead of fighting each other over racial and ethnic barriers. We need to come together.

And so I say to you, Americans: With all that's happened, I want to let you know that I love you.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->