hodgson.diaryland.com

Aretha I love you

I went up to Black Mountain Music Festival once with Kat to play a little music and get very, very drunk with the hippies.

Everyone who came would camp out around the festival and just wake up and walk over to the stages.

So our show as at like 10:30. No one was awake. I'm walking around this mountain with my guitar, trying to find where I am supposed to be. It's a beautiful mountain morning, with dew sparkling on the grass.

I finally find the stage I'm supposed to be at, where the engineer is firing up the PA. There's is a lone drunk asleep in the audience area, which is a grassy field sloping up a hillside.

He gets everything going, loping about with stringy blond hair sort of floating around his head. "YOU NEED A DI BOX?" he barks at me. The drunk in the audience groans.

We get all our shit set up and do our thing, as even-more-dishevelled-than-usual hippies are awakened by the noise and amble over to the stage area. The drunk is awake and drinking again by this point.

After we get done Matt,the other guitar player, and I go get ourselves a case of beers and sit by a lake getting shitfaced.

I love playing music more than anything, but it's also fun to get drunk with guitar players and sing Aretha tunes by a lake. When you are doing what you love to do, even the stuff around it seems cool.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->