hodgson.diaryland.com

donut heist!

The other night I was driving by the Dunkin Donuts on North Druid Hills after having a couple of beers with some friends, when I saw some masked men run into the place. It looked for all the world like they intended to hold the place up.

I thought to myself, No fucking way, but like a stupid ass I had to swing back around to be sure. I made a placid U-turn with the radio blaring, and looked out the passenger side at the donut shop.

Sure enough, one guy was standing at the door looking out, and the other guys were pointing guns at the employees. Oh fuck!

I made the right turn onto La Vista and drove along the side of the donut shop, thinking I would call the cops and tell them what was going on, but I noticed in my rearview as I drove on that the thieves jumped into their car and sped out of the parking lot.

Well now they were fuckin RIGHT BEHIND ME. I was thinking this must be top five stupidest things I have ever done, because La Vista at that point becomes a two lane, so I had to get out of the way or the thieves were stuck behind me with their guns and donut holes and whatever else they had.

Thankfully there was a right hander into the neighborhood right there, which I took. They drove on straight past me.

So, I didn't exactly FIGHT crime, necessarily, but I did slow crime up a bit while I got out of its way and let it roll merrily into the night.

I called the cops, but I didn't have any good info for them because I was too busy saving my neck to get a license plate or a description.

So, I guess I won't be having that superhero cape and underpants tailor made for me just yet.

<-- | Comments(3) | -->