hodgson.diaryland.com

playing a solo

Last night I was playing with the guys over at Lulu's, and we were in the middle of a song. I was trying to play a good solo, when a lady wandered up tp the stage. She had that look on her face.

Sometimes people in the crowd decide they have something important to tell you, like "Play 'Peg'!" or "I wanna hear Hall and Oats!" and they just can not wait until a song break to do it.

Now, not only was I obviously playing at the time, but I was playing a SOLO. Just when I need my concentration most, this lady wants to have a chit chat about what song she wants to hear.

"Lady, I'm playing a solo!" I said, still playing away.

"But I want to hear a slow song!" she said.

I looked over at Jeremy, bassist and bandleader. He shrugged.

"Lady, I'm playing a solo!" I repeated.

She went away.

Jeez! My solos are bad enough without some woman stumbling up to the stage and demanding to yuk it up with me about her desires for a slow song in the ass-middle of them. She could have talked to Jeremy, standing right there next to me, obviously NOT playing a solo, but no!

DO me a favor, my friends. If you want to hear a song, please wait until a break between songs to let your local musicians know. We like making you happy and we want to play what you want to hear, so please help us do so by not being a complete twat.

Thank you.

<-- | Comments(1) | -->