hodgson.diaryland.com

I go to jail

I was bored at my night job, naturally.

I decided I might go for a drive around the neighborhood to see if I could find a non-highway route to the nearest train station so I could avoid driving altogether. As I was searching around, a cop pulled me over, which was good because I couldn't find a particular street.

He took my license and my insurance info, and said that he had pulled me over for a tag light being out. I said I didn't know it was out. He went back to his car for a bit.

He came back and asked if I knew my license was suspended. I said I didn't. By this time two other cops had showed up. He asked me to turn my car off, and I knew I was in deep shit.

He asked me to step out of the car.

"I'm going to have to arrest you." he said.

"Okay." I said.

He arrested me. He had to, you see.

He clipped the cuffs on me and put me in the back of his cruiser, which had about 3cm of legroom. At a shade over 6 feet tall, I require more legroom than this, so I had to sit sideways. The cuffs dug into my wrists.

"I sure wish I had stayed at work." I told the cop through the glass.

"Yeah, sometimes things just don't go your way." he said.

We pulled up to the county pokey. he radioed the people he had to radio, and the gates slowly slid back to admit us. We went inside that gate, waited for it to slowly close, and then the next one slowly opened.

He swung around and parked inside a big garage area, locked his sidearm in his trunk, and came to let me out of the back. I got out and stood up, and he and I walked toward the door a few feet away.

"By the way," he said, "I'm not going to charge you for the tag light being out. Just this other thing."

My laughs came out quickly at the absurdity of the situation, and escaped into the night as the county jail door clanked behind me.

<-- | Comments(6) | -->