hodgson.diaryland.com

frog repair work

Our house is sort of like a graveyard for shitty vehicles. Ten people live with me, and many have a car that they drive and another car that needs something fixed on it.

Walter's got 3 cars. He has a 77 Bronco, an 80's Suburban, and a Subaru Legacy with a flat tire. It was also missing a door, but we found one at a junkyard and fixed that. Frog's got two cars. He has an older Chevy truck with a bad transmission and a newer GMC SUV thing.

There are also a couple of cars sitting around whose owners have moved on to other cities. One of these was a red subaru wagon belonging to a guy named Slater, who has long since moved away. He said he didn't want it anymore, so we pushed it off into the trees and left it.

At some point its window got broken out in a fit of drunken pique by some unruly house member, and one day a city inspector came and told us it was an eyesore and had to be moved.

We have had many conversations about how to get rid of it, and we finally decided to just abandon it somewhere else. Walter hopped in it today and tore out of the driveway with Madison close behind in the chase vehicle. They dumped it on the interstate somewhere for the city people to deal with.

All this was going on while I was under Frog's newer car, changing its oil. GMC, in all their wisdom, decided to fit the oil filter so that there is no fucking way in the world to get an oil filter wrench on it. I eventually got it off. Our deal was that I would change his oil if he would fix my belts, but he spent most of the time available commiserating with his dad about what an idiot I was to burn the belts up in the first place, so I did most of the belt work too.

You see, I've been meaning to fix my top radiator hose for a while now, since the duct tape just isn't working. It's got a bad leak, so I have to put water in it every time I go somewhere. Problem is, we had a cold snap last week and my water pump froze. I'm an idiot, I know.

We went up to the parts store to get the belts I needed. I was paying the cashier for my belts, and Frog said "Buy a radiator hose, for the love of god. I'll put it on for you". He proceeded to rat me out on my lazy car repair work to the parts store lady.

Damn that Frog.

<-- | Comments(2) | -->