hodgson.diaryland.com

Dancing Drummer

I examined Blake's drumsticks during a break in recording. They had his name written on them. "Oh," I thought, "He writes them on there to keep from getting them mixed up with other people's sticks".

I examined the writing more closely. No, no, those were his signature sticks from ProMark. Eek.

He came in. "Okay, ready again?"

"Yup" I hopped up and went into the little fishtank where Greg and I were recording.

"This is the take," Blake said over the headphones when I got set up.

"You sure?" I asked.

"Yeah, this is the one"

"If this isn't the take, will you get up and do a little dance for us?"

"Sure" he grinned. I think he thought I was kidding.

He stuttered on the opening roll. He tried to get us set for another try before I made him dance, but he looked up and I had my eyebrow cocked at him.

To his credit, he stood up and danced. We all laughed, and then got back to work.

Now that's a professional.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->