hodgson.diaryland.com

everyone made lovers

We sat around in the green room that the owner of the place had constructed out of some boards and thin plywood. It had black cloth over the doorways.

Mike discovered that the candle on the table was made to look like it was wicker. I jumped up and down to get my blood doing its thing.

Reba moaned over the mains to some somewhat backwoodsy looking patrons.

The club owner appeared through one of the curtains.

"Okay guys, I'm going to go up and make a few house announcements, then Charlie is going to bring the music back up, then you go out there and I will introduce you, and then you start. Okay?"

I repeated it all back to him.

"Okay."

He disappeared through the other curtain, and soon his voice came on over the mains.

"Welcome to Copenhagen Five! We have a great show for you tonight..." he said to the people. He finished his announcements and Charlie brought the music back up.

The owner reappeared through the curtain.

"Okay fellas. Ready?" The song that was playing ended in a climax.

"Yeah" I said "Let's do this."

Just as we were being born from the curtain on the other side, another song came on. It was one of those gut-wrenching sorrow ballads.

"Jesus christ man we can't go out on that" I said. We were again swallowed by the curtain.

We looked at each other. The troops looked like they were ready to get this shit in gear. I decided to hell with it.

We went out anyway. I clicked my stage right amp on as I went by, then the stage left, then picked up my guitar. Greg strapped himself into his bass. We were ready.

I clicked on the leslie simulator with my right foot, as blue and red gels colored the light pouring out of the fresnells in front of the stage.

The owner leaped back up on stage. He grabbed the mic.

He introduced us.

"Please welcome from Atlanta everyone.. Marsh Davis!"

The world shrunk into a tiny pinpoint of light as I was sucked down into the concentration well of music, where nothing matters. The owner bounded in slow motion over my stage right amp, as the first few notes of our set cascaded in waves out over the lip of the stage.

We were about to make lovers out of everyone.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->