hodgson.diaryland.com

the idiot box

My wacky friend Brad joined the Marine Corps. He wants to be a machine gunner. I can't think of that many things I would like less to be.

"They will give me a lot of money for college" he said.

"Yeah and they will also yell at you, make you run, tell you to carry heavy shit, make you shoot at people you may not think deserve to be shot at, and put you in range of people who think you do deserve to be shot at."

"I want to be a machine gunner."

It's no use arguing with someone in that state of mind.

It's a shame that all the people who want to hurt americans aren't as lazy as I am. They'd be sitting on a couch somewhere with a shiny machine gun.

"Hey, man. Should we go kill some Americans?"

"Fuck, I don't know. Junkyard wars is on."

I think Junkyard Wars could herald a new era of peace and accord on Earth. It certainly heralds a new era of staring at the tv and not doing much else at my apartment.

I like most of The Learning channel, but a lot of times when I turn the TV on something boring or depressing comes on, so I turn it off until it can think of something better to show me.

They don't call it the idiot box for nothing.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->