hodgson.diaryland.com

captain of industry

At work I am playing a game in my head that I call Founder Survivor. It goes like this.

The people who founded this comany are slowly getting "voted off the island", which is to say "fired", by the new upper management.

We are down to two.

There were like 6 to begin with I think.

Whenever they cut one loose they hold a huge meeting to wish them well and all that. Basically this serves to posture about how this person left to persue other interests. Yeah, other interests like unemployment.

I can't understand why they don't just come right out and say why they are doing it. Everyone knows they are punching people's tickets left and right, yet they swaddle it all in this cloak of bullshit.

I was going to leave early yesterday and they called an all-company meeting at 4:30. It was 15 minutes of blah blah about how they wished Margie well in her new position, and they were sorry to see her go. Then the salespeople got up and tickled each other for everyone's benefit, as always.

"I'm really close to makeing a sale! Are you close to making a sale, Bob?"

"I sure am, Jack! Are you going to make a sale, Fred?"

"Holy jeez am I ever!"

That sort of thing.

I wish they would shut the hell up and let me get back to pretending to work while my stock options drop in price. Hopefully someday my portfolio will eclipse the price of a case of beer, but I don't hold out much hope.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->