hodgson.diaryland.com

leaking it out

I went to see a band play Friday night, and they quite annoyed me. I know they are folk musicians, and they are not supposed to be shouting at the top of their lungs all the time, but these guys just leaked it out all night.

Every song started the same, very quietly, then some very low vocals on top of that. Then they'd sort of get going, but they would choke it back down to almost nothing again. Then the end of the song would go on for 30 minutes, so quiet that you couldn't tell when it was over, and when they were just being dramatic.

At one point in the evening one of the guys was lightly, oh-so-lightly strumming his guitar, and he said into the mic "Do you ever wake up in the morning..." and I immediately envisioned myself committing suicide. I wanted to shout at them, "Show me some emotion, for fuck's sake! Show me SOMETHING". Instead I just sat in my little wooden chair, my ass getting more and more sore by the minute.

Now let me say that I do not dislike folk artists. I like David Wilcox and Ani Difranco in particular. The place was packed, so people like them, but they just pissed me off. Luckily I was there with a concert pianist, with whom I commisserated after the show.

"They had better be paying that keyboard player well, cause he is making their act" I said.

"Yeah, no shit"

<-- | Comments(0) | -->