hodgson.diaryland.com

down, but never on my knees

I have thought about calling Jill to tell her that I am moving to Atlanta, and to tell her that I won't forget her. Ultimately, I can't imagine what the point of such a call might be. I feel so much better for not having talked to her.

Other girls come and go, and I don't tell them about her, about my Waterloo. Everyone is their own little pot of horror, simmering and waiting to spill. I can't be bothered, i just want to forget about it and get on with life.

I don't drink often, and I am slowly cutting out the smoking. I am the captain again, and not even sneering for having stood up despite Liliputian ropes staked down on all sides. I was down, but never on my knees.

This is the story of someone who made it, but doesn't have the time for the cheap tokens that triumph comes with.

I remember reading about Richard Feynman winning the nobel prize. Someone called him in the middle of the night to tell him he had won and he said "Well, do I have to accept?". The person on the other end of the line indicated that to not accept would cause even more hubbub than accepting.

I like Richard Feynman, the world is a sadder place for his loss.

<-- | Comments(0) | -->